Thomas Wilson: a chamber portrait

An influential figure both personally and musically, Thomas Wilson (1927–2001) was the leading light in a group of composers whose vision and technical assurance brought an international modernism into 20th-century Scottish music. In the chamber works collected here, moments of extraordinary stillness continually release into fast, propulsive music whose compelling energies are matched by the individual and collective virtuosity of pianist Simon Smith, guitarist Allan Neave and the Edinburgh Quartet.

"The performers, above all pianist Simon Smith, lavish every possible care on the music. They bring out the occasional moments of poetry, but they can’t hide the rhythmic squareness or the prevailing atmosphere of worthiness"

"This generously filled, magnificently played and beautifully produced release with illuminating and detailed insert notes by John Fallas is thus most welcome"

Producer: Paul Baxter
Release Date: 25 May 2009
Catalogue No: DCD34079
Total playing time: 1:17:56

You may also like ...