Robert Crawford: Music for solo piano; Piano Quintet

Elder statesman of the Scottish music scene, Robert Crawford has throughout his life lavished intense care upon every one of his comparatively few compositions. The Edinburgh Quartet and pianist Nicholas Ashton are intimately acquainted with Crawford’s work, and mirror the composer’s attention to detail in a long overdue survey of this lovingly crafted music, spanning sixty years of compositional activity.


"Beautifully-crafted music"

"Delphian continue their dedication to contemporary Scottish composers with this disc of music by Robert Crawford. The Piano Quintet is in four movements and is alive with music that is rocking and eager as well as haunted. When it is haunted it is at its most hushed...This provocative release is complemented by good liner notes by Adam Binks."

"forms are skilfully managed, and with advocacy as persuasive as that of Nicholas Ashton the music regularly takes wing."

Producer: Paul Baxter
Release Date: 4 Feburary 2008
Catalogue No: DCD34055
Total playing time: 1:04:44

You may also like ...