Robert Crawford: String Quartets Nos 1–3

Delphian’s second disc of chamber music by Robert Crawford was released shortly before his death in January 2012, aged 86, and pays fitting tribute to a composer whose long friendship with the Edinburgh Quartet ultimately brought him back to composition after three decades’ silence. Given here in characteristically vivid readings, these three fine works thus offer a fascinating overview of Crawford’s stylistic development; the second in particular, with its inspired wit and infectious musicality, deserves far greater renown.

"his early promise is made clear by the first two string quartets. The First Quartet (1949) is a sizeable work whose four-movement format is by no means orthodox...Considerably shorter, the Second Quartet (1957) develops its predecessor's contrapuntal ingenuity and its effective use of dissonance...Dedicated performances by the Edinburgh Quartet and extensive notes from Adam Binks enhance a worthwhile release"

"Crawford has a unique voice and one which has been hidden away for too long."

Producer: Paul Baxter
Release Date: 26 September 2011
Catalogue No: DCD34091
Total playing time: 1:02:00

You may also like ...